November 19, 2012 | By: Aimee Nielson

Current land-grant research issues and recognition of award-winning researchers in the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture highlighted the 2012 Celebration of Land-Grant Research.

Hosted by the college’s research office, the celebration was held in Seay Auditorium in the UK Agricultural Science Center.

The 2012 award recipients are:

Bobby Pass Excellence in Grantsmanship Award – Seth DeBolt for his outstanding record of competitive funding for research in plant biology. Since 2008, he has received more than $2.5 million in competitive grants from the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of Energy. DeBolt is a faculty member in the Department of Horticulture.

Research/Extension Impact Award- Lisa Gaetke for her efforts to improve the health of communities near Superfund sites through improved nutrition. Gaetke is a faculty member in the Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition.

Prestigious Research Paper Award- Charles Fox for his paper, “Inbreeding depression increases with environmental stress: An experimental study and meta-analysis,” published in Evolution. Fox is a faculty member in the Department of Entomology.


Lesley Oliver, 859-257-1084

News Topics: