August 7, 2012 | By: Katie Pratt

Kentucky 4-H recently named the organization’s first Emerald Award recipients.

Award winners are Julia Steffen, Campbell County; Whitney Crume, Nelson County; Marketta Lawless, Russell County and Megan Harper, Calloway County.

Each winner received a $1,000 scholarship to the 2014 National 4-H Conference in Washington, D.C. and $1,000 college scholarship.

The award is the highest honor for Kentucky 4-H’s Achievement Program, which includes non-competitive and competitive levels. To qualify for the Emerald Award, 4-H’ers must be at least a sophomore in high school, have reached non-competitive Level V and be chosen as one of the top 10 Gold Award winners for the current year or a past years’ Gold Award recipient. The Gold Award is a competitive level of the Achievement Program that requires 4-H’ers to work with stakeholders in their community to identify a community issue and develop a solution.

Finalists for the Emerald Award go through an interview process to determine the winners.


Kim Foster, 859-257-5961, ext. 240

News Topics: