October 14, 2016 | By: Carl Nathe

More than 100 faculty members from all 14 Southeastern Conference universities will take part in the 2016-17 SEC Faculty Travel Program, the league office announced Oct. 6. Of the more than 100 participants, nine are faculty at the University of Kentucky. The program, in its fifth year, provides support for selected individuals to collaborate with colleagues at other SEC member institutions. Sunday "Tayo" Adedokun and Yoko Kusunose, assistant professors in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environment are participants.

"The SEC Faculty Travel Program continues to garner significant interest from faculty members across the conference, and we are encouraged by how our universities have identified a range of individuals to participate," said Torie Johnson, executive director of the SEC's academic initiative, known as SECU. "This program allows us to facilitate collaboration that stretches from the science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields to include the arts and community engagement."

Through the program, the SEC provides financial assistance for its faculty members to travel to other SEC universities to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, conduct research and deliver lectures or performances. Read more here


Kathy Johnson, 859-257-3155, kathy.johnson@uky.edu or Caroline Kelsey, coke222@g.uky.edu

News Topics: