May 1, 2018
Lexington, Ky.

The University of Kentucky Board of Trustees today approved 14 University Research Professorships for the 2018-19 year.


The purpose of the University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of scholars across the full range of disciplines at UK. The award amount is $10,000 for one year, to be used to further the research, scholarship and creative endeavors of the awardee. 


"The impact of these faculty to the University, and to the Commonwealth, cannot be overstated," said Lisa Cassis, UK's vice president for research. "They are shining examples of the tireless work that is moving the research enterprise forward, creating new knowledge, discovering new cures and empowering the next generation of scientists and scholars under their mentorship to change their world for the better."


To align with the overall objective for research within UK's 2015-2020 Strategic Plan, the University Research Professors Program was revised in 2016 and now recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors within each college that nominates a faculty member. College leadership developed criteria for excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise and then nominated faculty who excelled at these criteria.


The 2018-19 University Research Professors are:


  • David Van Sanford, Plant and Soil Sciences, College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Matthew Zook, Geography, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Heide Gluesing-Luerssen, Mathematics, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Nancy Grant Harrington, Communications, College of Communication and Information
  • Jennifer Wilhelm, STEM Education, College of Education
  • Rick Honaker, Mining Engineering, College of Engineering
  • Herman Daniel Farrell III, Theater and Dance, College of Fine Arts
  • Daniel Brass, Management, Gatton College of Business and Economics
  • Brian Noehren, Rehabilitation Science, College of Health Sciences
  • Richard C. Ausness, College of Law
  • Sharon Walsh, Behavioral Science, College of Medicine
  • Mark V. Williams, Internal Medicine, College of Medicine
  • Jon Thorson, Pharmaceutical Sciences, College of Pharmacy
  • Heather M. Bush, Biostatistics, College of Public Health

Jenny Wells-Hosley,, 859-257-5343